Aligning the 8 Aboriginal Ways of Learning with an Inquiry Unit of Work: ‘Sometimes I Feel…’ (F-2)

I have recently created a sample unit of work for year levels F-2. Without even realizing, while completing this task it seems that I have actually already attempted to merge particular aspects of the 8 Aboriginal Ways of Learning (such as story sharing, land links and community links) into the unit of work to further enhance the prospective learning experiences.

The unit is called ‘Sometimes I feel…’ and focuses on children finding ways to appropriately and effectively manage and express their feelings, as well as be mindful of others’ and any actions that can negatively impact their feelings. In an attempt to align the 8 Aboriginal Ways of Learning into this unit of work I have constructed a table, which clearly highlights how aspects of Indigenous perspectives to learning can be useful resources.

Image

References:

8 Aboriginal Ways of Knowing. 2009. Retrieved from http://8ways.wikispaces.com/

2 thoughts on “Aligning the 8 Aboriginal Ways of Learning with an Inquiry Unit of Work: ‘Sometimes I Feel…’ (F-2)

  1. HI Laura, Amazing! There is a desperate need for so much of your unit planning in our schools and I can see how this would also benefit the many multi cultural groups in our “learning pot”.
    The last link, the community link is so valuable not only for the students but for the many parents who might say “If my child can address it and communicate it, then I can, too”.

    Rita

  2. Hi Rita,
    Thanks for your comment. It’s very interesting that you picked up on the importance of making links to parents, particularly concerning addressing and communicating their own emotions and feelings. I too think this is a very valuable lesson for parents as well as students, because after all it is usually the parents who largely set the way for their children.

    I also managed to check out the link you posted to me on the LEO forum and I am really really glad that you addressed this concept of Indigenous and Western cultures having quite different ways of expressing their feelings. I agree that it is so important to be conscious of these cultural differences not only if you happen to be teaching this unit to Indigenous students, but also to make other students aware that these differences do exist and to be mindful of them. I found it really interesting how silence and a simple ‘look’ is so valued in the Indigenous culture. Another thing that really struck me was their hesitance to respond to questions that have an obvious response as they feel that there is no obligation to answer a question if the response is obvious. In a classroom setting, this is something the teachers and other students would have to be mindful of.

    This also reminds me, in an earlier post on my blog I talked about Indigenous world views and their place in today’s education system, particularly within the science curriculum. I have posted the link to access the reading- I would really recommend you give it a read as it highlights the differences between Western and Indigenous belief systems and their impact on education, as well as things to consider in a classroom setting when teaching Indigenous students.

    Enjoy,

    Laura

Leave a Reply

